Home Travel Tech Starting To Travel Again? Make Sure To Change This Setting On Your Phone.

Starting To Travel Again? Make Sure To Change This Setting On Your Phone.

by joeheg

If you’re like me, there are probably hundreds of functions and settings on your phone that you don’t even know about. When installing an update, it’s easier to leave the default preferences in place.

The only time I’ll ever go into my phone settings is after I read an article that actually explains what a setting means and why it might be a good, or a bad, idea to change things around.

I noticed this new “feature” of my iPhone but at first, I thought it was just a glitch. I knew it wasn’t when I saw someone on Twitter complaining about the same issue and I looked into it some more.

Offload Unused Apps

With iOS 11, Apple introduced a new feature called “Offload Unused Apps”. This is supposed to mark the apps you don’t use and delete them from your phone, saving you space if you need it. I never had to worry about this much before the COVID pandemic because I used my travel apps all the time. However, when I checked out my phone today, here’s what I found.

See all the little clouds next to the apps? That indicates those apps have been deleted from my phone. So if I were to tap one of them, the phone would need to download the app again.

Offload the app, which frees up storage used by the app, but keeps its documents and data

Not a big deal if you’re sitting at home but if you’re somewhere where you don’t have a strong internet connection, that could be a huge problem. While Apple claims that when an app is deleted, the data stays behind and you don’t lose any information but when I tried to log into my account, all of my login info was gone. I had to go and look up my account numbers and passwords for each account, which is a major pain.

I find the problem to be that I have no control over which apps the phone will delete. Some of them, like the travel apps, I will only use occasionally but I always want them on my phone. I’d much prefer being asked which ones to delete if the phone felt I was running out of memory.

I’m not cramped for space on my phone so I chose to turn this feature off. I don’t want to try and open up a map program or a translator to find that Apple has deleted it because I was never using it.

If you want a step-by-step tutorial on how to disable this function, check out this article.

Want to comment on this post? Great! Read this first to help ensure it gets approved.

Like this post? Please share it! We have plenty more just like it and would love it if you decided to hang around and get emailed notifications of when we post. Or maybe you’d like to join our Facebook group – we have 22,000+ members and we talk and ask questions about travel (including Disney parks), creative ways to earn frequent flyer miles and hotel points, how to save money on or for your trips, get access to travel articles you may not see otherwise, etc. Whether you’ve read our posts before or this is the first time you’re stopping by, we’re really glad you’re here and hope you come back to visit again!

This post first appeared on Your Mileage May Vary

1 comment

Robert September 28, 2019 - 10:27 pm

Easier solution is to not buy apple products and you wont have that problem.

Reply

Leave a Reply

BoardingArea

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

%d bloggers like this: