Home Travel Costa Rica Reopening For Tourism August 1, But Not To Americans

Costa Rica Reopening For Tourism August 1, But Not To Americans

by SharonKurheg

And the hits just keep on coming…

Closed since March 16 due to the 2019 Novel Coronavirus, Costa Rica will reopen its borders to allow tourism on August 1st. At that time, at least five international flights will arrive each week at Juan Santamaría International Airport (SJO) in Costa Rica’s capital of San José, and Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport (LIR) in the northeast city of Liberia (the country’s other two airports will remain closed at this time).

The small Central American country will admit travelers from the select low-risk countries of the European Union, United Kingdom, and Canada. Tourists from the United States, who typically make up the largest group of international arrivals into Costa Rica, are considered high risk and will be banned at this time, due to our high numbers of people who have the 2019 Novel coronavirus.

‘The recovery of the sector will be carried out with the utmost prudence and in adherence to strict sanitary protocols, always with the supreme conviction of ensuring the health and life of people,’ said President Carlos Alvarado.

The first flights will arrive from Germany (Frankfurt) and Spain (Madrid).

The requirements for tourists who are allowed to enter the country include:

  • Completing and presenting an epidemiological survey.
  • Presenting proof of a negative PCR coronavirus test. The result must have been received within 48 hours before travel to Costa Rica.
  • Having travel insurance that covers medical care or an unexpected extended hotel stay.
  • Following all airport and local health protocols, which include wearing a mask or face shield in nearly all indoor areas

‘In the event that a tourist does not meet these requirements, they will not be able to embark on national soil,’ tourism minister Gustavo Segura said. ‘It is necessary to give this signal to reopen commercial flights for the reactivation of the tourism sector.’

With the decision to bar people residing in the U.S., Costa Rica joins the European Union’s 27 member nations, China, Canada, Japan, New Zealand and the Bahamas in prohibiting American tourists altogether. Most other countries have placed strict restrictions on our visiting for tourism, with requirements that run the gamut from a negative COVID-19 test to a 2-week quarantine upon entering.

#stayhealthy #staysafe #washyourhands #wearamask

Like this post? Please share it! We have plenty more just like it and would love it if you decided to hang around and get emailed notifications of when we post. Or maybe you’d like to join our Facebook group – we have 14,000+ members and we talk and ask questions about travel (including Disney parks), creative ways to earn frequent flyer miles and hotel points, how to save money on or for your trips, get access to travel articles you may not see otherwise, etc. Whether you’ve read our posts before or this is the first time you’re stopping by, we’re really glad you’re here and hope you come back to visit again!

This post first appeared on Your Mileage May Vary

1 comment

02nz July 27, 2020 - 9:56 am

Just another price Americans are paying for winning so much!


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: