Home New York City New York Adds 4 More States, & Removes 1, To Its Quarantine List

New York Adds 4 More States, & Removes 1, To Its Quarantine List

by SharonKurheg

Effective July 14, Governor Andrew Cuomo has added four more states to New York’s quarantine list, and removed one, as he tries to contain the spread of coronavirus from the areas of the country where the virus continues to grow.

The newly-added states are Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin. However, in a bit of good news, Delaware has been removed from the list.

The quarantine goes into place for any person who arrives from a state that has a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average, or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

“New Yorkers showed incredible courage and resiliency throughout this pandemic, and nowhere is their work more evident than in the numbers we release every day, including in New York City, once a global hotspot,” Governor Cuomo said. “However, the success of our efforts depends on citizens’ willingness to comply with state guidance, socially distance, wear masks and wash their hands, and rising cases around the country continue to threaten our progress, which is why four new states have been added to New York’s travel advisory.”

The current list of states on New York’s travel advisory are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin

The New York State Department of Health has issued an emergency health order that mandates all out-of-state travelers from these designated states to complete a form with their contact information, as well as where they will be quarantined for the next 14 days.

July 14 also marks the day that a travel enforcement operation begins at airports throughout the state. With it, enforcement teams will be stationed at all airports to greet passengers as they disembark from planes arriving from said earmarked states. Team members will request proof of completion of the State DOH traveler form, either via hard copy (it’s being distributed to passengers by airlines prior to, and upon boarding or disembarking flights to New York State) or online. Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $2,000 fine.

The quarantine is also in effect for New Jersey and Connecticut.

PC: Adam Moss/flickr

#stayhealthy #staysafe #washyourhands #wearamask

Like this post? Please share it! We have plenty more just like it and would love it if you decided to hang around and get emailed notifications of when we post. Or maybe you’d like to join our Facebook group – we have 14,000+ members and we talk and ask questions about travel (including Disney parks), creative ways to earn frequent flyer miles and hotel points, how to save money on or for your trips, get access to travel articles you may not see otherwise, etc. Whether you’ve read our posts before or this is the first time you’re stopping by, we’re really glad you’re here and hope you come back to visit again!

This post first appeared on Your Mileage May Vary


derek July 14, 2020 - 11:10 pm

Will New York follow through if New Jersey fails to meet the criteria? Or Cuomo will act arbitrarily, like Trump?

SharonKurheg July 14, 2020 - 11:13 pm

Sorry, don’t know either way.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: